Faculty Contact Information and Research Interests

NameE–mailResearch InterestsFaculty Profile
Agathangelou, Anna M.agathang@yorku.caGlobalization, Politics and Government, Empire and Contemporary Imperialism, Securities Studies, Feminist and Postcolonial Theory and PraxisProfile
Armstrong, Patpatarmst@yorku.caHealth care and health policy; women and work; feminist political economyProfile
Bakker, Isabella C.icbakker@yorku.caGender and fiscal policy/gender budgeting; development economics; globalization and human security; governance and social reproduction feminist international political economy; public finance; measuring progress on human rights and gender equality commitments; financing for development; social policy and gender orders.
Bell, Shannon M.shanbell @yorku.caModern and postcontemporary theory, cyberpolitics, aesthetics and politics, violent philosophy and fast feminismProfile
Bird, Kymberleykbird@yorku.caTheatre, History, Canadian, English, feminism, theatre particularly women's theatreProfile
Barras, Amelieabarras@yorku.caHuman Rights, Religion, Politics, Secularism, Gender
Bischoping, Kathykbischop@yorku.caCulture and Cultural Studies , Sociology , Qualitative Methods, Narrative Analysis, Oral History
Britzman, Deborahbritzman@edu.yorku.caPsychoanalysis: Theory, clinical practice, and history of; Controversies in curriculum theory; critical theory and literary studies; psychology of teaching and learning
Brooke, Stephensjbrooke@yorku.caGender, sexuality, and visual culture in the context of 20th century British society
Brushwood-Rose, Chloebrushwood-rose@edu.yorku.caFeminist pedagogy; visual research methods; digital storytelling; aesthetics; psychoanalytic theory; queer theory
Bunting, M. Anneabunting@yorku.caWomen's human rights, culture and religion, with a particular focus on Muslim women's human rights around marriage.Profile
Cameron, Barbara P.barbarac@yorku.caPolicy, Women, The Political Economy of Women's Equality/Inequality, Labour Market Policy and Precarious Employment
Cavanagh, Sheila L.sheila@yorku.caGender Issues, Culture and Cultural Studies, Queer Theory, Psychoanalytic Theory, Trans* Studies, Performance EthnographyProfile
Coburn,
Elaine
ecoburn
@glendon.yorku.ca
Neoliberal forms of globalization, struggles for social justice and social theory, especially socialist feminist, Indigenous and anti-racist perspectives.Profile
Cohen, Elizabeth S.rcohen@yorku.caHistory, Women's Studies
Crosby, Alisonacrosby@yorku.caMemory and memorialization; violence; transitional justice; Latin America; anti-racist, anti-colonial and transnational feminisms; feminist participatory action researchProfile
Crow, Barbara A.bacrow@yorku.caCommunications, Women's Studies, Digital technologies; social movements; women's studies; political economy of communication; and mobile technologies.Profile
Daly, Tamara J.dalyt@yorku.caFeminist ethnography; feminist political economy; gender, work and health; care work; aging and health
Das Gupta, Taniatdasgu@yorku.caRacism and Anti-racism, Gender Issues, Class, Employment and Labour, Multiculturalism, Migration, Transnationalism
Davidson, Deborahdwhatley@yorku.caSociology, Health, Visual Methods, Qualitative Research and Auto/biography, Death, Bereavement, Commemoration, & Social Support
Davis, Andrea A.aadavis@yorku.caRace and Racism, Caribbean, African American and Black Canadian Literatures and Theatre, Social Histories of the African Diaspora, Black Cultural and Feminist Studies, Youth Studies, Equity in Education
Dion, Susansdion@edu.yorku.ca
Doob, Penelopeprdoob@yorku.ca
Dua, Enaedua@yorku.caProfile
Dunlop, Rishmardunlop@yorku.caLiterature and Creative WritingProfile
Gazso, Amberagazso@yorku.caSociology, Gender Issues, Family and intimate relationships, Poverty, Social PolicyProfile
Gilbert, Jenjgilbert@edu.yorku.ca
Giles, Wenona Marywgiles@yorku.caAnthropology, Gender Issues, Migration and Forced Migration; the Gender Relations Economic and Political Migration, Gender and Militarization; Ethnicity, Nationalism and Gender, Women and Development.Profile
Gosine, Andilandil@yorku.caCulture and Cultural Studies, Arts and Culture, Visual Arts of Indentureship, Environmental Justice, Sexualities & Intimacy
Gorman, Rachelgorman@yorku.caPolitical economies of disability; Disability Arts and Culture movements; postcolonial and dialectical materialist approaches to understanding the social organization of disability; disability in the context of nationalisms, transnational imperialism, and national liberation; internationalist and anti-capitalist approaches to global healthcare provision.Profile
Hadj-Moussa, Ratibarhm@yorku.caSociology of Culture and Political Sociology
Haig-Brown, E. Celiachaig-brown@edu.yorku.ca(De)colonizing research and practice; Critical ethnography; Critical/feminist pedagogy; Learning from the land; Adult & community education; Curriculum development; Ways of knowing
Hossein, Caroline S.chossein@yorku.caPoverty, Gender Issues, Africa and the African Diaspora, Social economy and Intersectionality, Community economic development, Non-profits, Microfinance, Self-help groups and Social enterprisesProfile
Jenson, Jenniferjjenson@edu.yorku.caProfile
Judge, Joanjudge@yorku.caChinese Print Culture, Print Culture in Modern China and in Comparative Perspective, Chinese Women’s History, Reading Practices in China and in Comparative PerspectiveProfile
Kadar, Marlenemkadar@yorku.caLife Writing and Autobiography, Archival Lives, Interdisciplinary Research Methods, Memory, The Holocaust and The PorrajmosProfile
Kainer, Jan Melaniejkainer@yorku.caWomen, work and labour; feminist political economy of work; workplace equity; women/gender and professions Profile
Karpinski, Evaevakarp@yorku.ca Auto/biography and life writing studies; graphic memoirs; translation studies; multilingualism; feminist theories and methodologies; new materialisms and decolonial thought; gender in Eastern EuropeProfile
Kempadoo, Kamalakempadoo@yorku.caProfile
Kelly, Philippfkelly@yorku.ca
Ladd-Taylor, Mollymltaylor@yorku.caProfile
Latchford, Frances Jflatch@yorku.caCritical Adoption Studies; Sex, Gender and Sexuality Studies; Queer and Trans* Performance Studies; Feminist and Queer Social and Political Philosophies; Continental, Psychoanalytic, Poststructural, and Postcolonial theories of Subjectivity, Ontology, Phenomenology and Identity.
Lee, Becky Rblee@yorku.caHistory, Gender & Religion, Medieval English Rituals and Customs Related to Childbirth, Lay Spirituality in Late Medieval England, The Methods and Theories of Women's History and Gender HistoryProfile
Luxton, Megmluxton@yorku.caFeminist political economy, marxist feminism, feminist theory, sex/gender divisions of labour, history of the women's movement, social reproductionProfile
Mandell, Nancy J.mandell@yorku.caProfile
McDermott, Patricia C.patmcd@yorku.ca
McPherson, Kathrynkathryn@yorku.ca
Mianda, Gertrudemianda@yorku.ca
Michaud, Jacinthejmichaud@yorku.caPolitics and Government, Poverty and Income Distribution Policies Québec, Social and Political Thought, FeminismProfile
Mitchell, Allysonmail@allysonmitchell.comGender Issues, Sexuality, Feminist / Queer Art, Affect TheoryProfile
Mongia, Radhikarmongia@yorku.caHistory; law; political theory; global modern; IndiaProfile
Moghissi, Haidehmoghissi@yorku.caMiddle East Politics and Culture; Islam and Gender; Human Rights; Diversity, ethnicity and immigration; race relations and policiesProfile
Murray, David A. B.damurray@yorku.caSexuality, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Cultural AnthropologyProfile
Murray, Karenmurrayk@yorku.caGovernance, Politics and Government , Cities and "the urban", Anti-racist and feminist politics, Poverty and inequalitiesProfile
Nijhawan, Shobnashobna@yorku.ca
Newton, Janice I.jnewton@yorku.caCanadian Studies, Democracy and Education, History of Canadian Political ScienceProfile
Noble, Bobby J.bnoble@yorku.caGender, Transgender Studies; Sexuality StudiesProfile
Oikawa, Monaoikawa@yorku.caSociology, Gender Issues, Critical race studies, Cultural studiesProfile
O'Reilly, Andreaaoreilly@yorku.caWomen's Studies, Family, Motherhood, Gender issues, Mothers in Popular CultureProfile
Pitt, Alice Janevprovost@yorku.caFeminism, Pschyoanalysis, Teacher EducationProfile
Rossiter, Amy B.rossiter@yorku.caSocial Work, Ethics, Integration of Critical Practice, Critical Perspectives in Social Work, Applications of Feminist Postmodernism to Social WorkProfile
Rutherford, Alexandraalexr@yorku.caHistory of women, gender, and feminist activism in psychology; Objectivity, advocacy, and the challenges of activist social science in the 20th century; Feminist social science and policy.Profile
Sanders, Leslieleslie@yorku.caAfrican American and Black Canadian Literature and Culture, Literatures of The African Diaspora
Sandilands, Catriona A. H.essandi@yorku.caEnvironmental cultural studies; Environmental/ecological literary criticism, environmental writing; Sexuality, gender and environments: queer ecologies, ecological feminisms; Nature and environment in social and political thought; Everyday human/plant relations, vegetality, and botanical biopolitics
Smith, Miriammcsmith@yorku.caQueering public policy; the queer nonprofit sector in Toronto; intersectionality, neoliberalism and LGBT citizenship at the 'national' and urban levels; the role of social science expertise in LGBT organizing; the impact of legal engagement on LGBT social movement struggles; trans rights in Canadian law and policy; and comparative analysis of LGBT legal change in Canada and the U.S.Profile
van-Daalen Smith, Cherylcvandaal@yorku.caGirls, Homelessness, Women and Electroshock, Children's Rights in Health Care Settings, Oppression and Health, Women's Self Esteem, Health and Animal Human BondingProfile
Vosko, Leah F.lvosko@yorku.caProfile
Wahab, Amarawahab@yorku.caSexual citizenship in liberal and postcolonial nation-state formations (mainly in the context of Canada and the Anglophone Caribbean); race and queer transnational politics; critiques of queer liberalism; and race, gender and the politics of representationProfile
Weir, Lornalweir@yorku.caSociology, Health, Social Theory, Science and Technology StudiesProfile
Whitworth, Sandra L.sandraw@yorku.caProfile